Hyundai Nordic Music Prize

September 04 2020

Hyundai Nordic Music Prize, is an annual award for the Best Nordic Album Of The Year.

Inspired by the British & Irish Mercury Prize, the prize was introduced in 2010. It was initiated by the by:Larm conference in Norway, the most important conference and showcase event for the wider Nordic music industry.

In setting up The Hyundai Nordic Music Prize, by:Larm had several aims: first, to create even stronger unity across the regions industry; second, to further increase international interest and awareness of what the region has to offer musically; and, last but not least, to refocus on the full length album as an art form.

The Nordic jury, comprising Audun Vinger (NO), Arnar Eggert Thoroddsen (IS), Ilkka Mattila (FI), Annah Björk (SE) og Anna Ullman (DK), collectively prepares a shortlist of 12 nominees. The international jury – consisting of Jeanette Lee (Rough Trade), Jude Rogers (The Guardian), Eric Deines (Jagjaguwar) and Stuart Maconie (BBC) decides which one that would end up as this year’s winner.

Previous winners:

  • 2010: Jónsi – Go
  • 2011: Goran Kafjes – X/Y
  • 2012: First Aid Kit – The Lions Roar
  • 2013: The Knife – Shaking The Habitual
  • 2014: Mirel Wagner – When The Cellar Children See The Light Of Day
  • 2015: Band of Gold – Band of Gold
  • 2016: Jenny Hval – Blood Bitch
  • 2017: Susanne Sundfør – Music For People In Trouble
  • 2018: Robyn – Honey
  • 2019: Hildur Guðnadóttir – Chernobyl (OST)