And the winner is…

June 07 2018

Susanne Sundfør's Music For People In Trouble wins The Orchard's Nordic Music Prize

At a special prizegiving ceremony during by:Larm 2018 today at 17.00, the official announcement of the winner of this year’s Nordic Music Prize for the best album of the past year took place.

We reveal this year’s winner and two Honorable Mentions, which were decided by an international jury this morning:

SUSANNE SUNDFØR – Music For People in Trouble

Jury statement on the winner: ‘The jury wanted to reward an album that is both a bold departure for her but confirms a fantastic talent. Stark and beautiful, containing both strong classic songs and experimentation. Of all the shortlist, we felt this is simply best album taken as a whole showcasing an amazing voice.’

Yung Lean – Stranger

Yung Lean is gaining recognition from international peers and this album competes with the best new hip from anywhere in the world . Musically innovative, Stranger deals with subjects often taboo within hip hop like depression and struggles with mental health.

Kim Myhr – You I Me

This is a sonically adventurous record, beautifully listenable and immersive but never wilfully difficult, spanning both the sound worlds of contemporary jazz guitar and modern classical music

The Nordic Music Prize, powered by The Orchard, is an annual award for the Best Nordic Album Of The Year. It’s unique in being the only music prize to celebrate talent from all five Nordic nations. Inspired by the British & Irish Mercury Prize, the prize was introduced in 2010. It was initiated by the by:Larm conference in Norway, the most important conference and showcase event for the wider Nordic music industry.

In holding The Nordic Music Prize, by:Larm has several aims: first, to create even stronger unity across the region’s industry; second, to further increase international interest and awareness of what the region has to offer musically; and to refocus on the full-length album as an art form.

A Nordic Jury, consisting of Arnar Eggert Thoroddsen (IS), Audun Vinger (NO), Ilkka Mattila (FI), Niklas Elmer (SE) and Ralf Christensen (DK) selected their 12 favourite albums from the Nordic countries in autumn 2017.

This year’s 12 nominated artists were:
Denmark: Katinka, Solbrud
Finland: Kaukolampi, Astrid Swan
Iceland: Björk, Högni, Alva Islandia
Norway: Kim Myhr, Susanne Sundfør
Sweden: Fever Ray, Mwuana, Yung Lean

‘Music from the Nordic countries continues to dazzle with its diversity and its distinctiveness. The final list of last year’s best albums, which we think achieves a good balance of genres and nationalities. May everyone win.’
– Audun Vinger, Nordic Jury foreman

Previous winners have included Jónsi, Goran Kajfes, First Aid Kit, The Knife, Mirel Wagner, Band of Gold and Jenny Hval.

The winner is selected during by:Larm by an international jury, consisting of Jeanette Lee (Rough Trade), Jude Rogers (The Guardian), Vincent Clery-Melin (Domino Records) and Stuart Maconie (BBC).

Photo: Raphael Chatelain