Robyn wins this year’s Hyundai Nordic Music Prize

March 01 2019

At a special prize giving ceremony during by:Larm 2018 today at 5 PM, the official announcement of the winner of this year’s Hyundai Nordic Music Prize for the best album of the past year took place.

We can finally reveal this year’s winner and two Honorable Mentions, which were decided by an international jury yesterday evening:

This year’s winner is ROBYN, with the astonishing album, Honey, released through her own label Konichiwa Records. ‘Undeniably a huge pop record, but also a brilliant step forward for Robyn: thoughtful and mature, and a dazzling creative rebirth. Given her international status, Robyn could have returned to pop being happy operate within the algorithms of streaming culture. Instead she has made a complete album, completely at ease with exposing and exploring how she has lived through some of life’s heavier hits, while still getting the asses onto the dancefloor. It pays beautiful homage to disco and house, while knowing when to be stark and sonically adventurous’, says the international jury, consisting of Jeanette Lee (Rough Trade), Jude Rogers (The Guardian), Eric Deines (Jagjaguwar) and Stuart Maconie (BBC).

Astrid Sonne – Human Lines
Amazing adventures in abstract sound from a classically trained musician who brings that creativity from the conservatoire to the world of electronica. An album which revels both in negative space and the information chaos of the modern age in all its beauty, noise and randomness.

Bisse – Tanmaurk
(Showbisse Inc.)
A hugely flamboyant orchestral pop tour de force that is also a sardonic love letter to his native Denmark, somewhere between Knausgård and Jacques Brel, Serge Gainsbourg and Scott Walker.

The Nordic jury, comprising Audun Vinger (NO), Arnar Eggert Thoroddsen (IS), Ilkka Mattila (FI), Annah Björk (SE) og Anna Ullman (DK), have collectively prepared a shortlist of 12 nominees for this year’s Hyundai Nordic Music Prize.

This year’s 12 nominated artists were:
Denmark: Astrid Sonne, Bisse, Soho Rezanejad
Finland: Jori Hulkkonen, Karina
Iceland: GDRN, GYDA
Norway: Lil Halima, Marja Mortensson
Sweden: Jenny Wilson, Robyn, Sarah Klang

The Hyundai Nordic Music Prize, is an annual award for the Best Nordic Album Of The Year. It’s unique in being the only music prize to celebrate talent from all five Nordic nations. Inspired by the British & Irish Mercury Prize, the prize was introduced in 2010. It was initiated by the by:Larm conference in Norway, the most important conference and showcase event for the wider Nordic music industry.
In holding The Hyundai Nordic Music Prize, by:Larm has several aims: first, to create even stronger unity across the region’s industry; second, to further increase international interest and awareness of what the region has to offer musically; and to refocus on the full-length album as an art form.