The Hyundai Nordic Music Prize 2019 goes to:

June 17 2020


We are proud to announce the Icelandic composer’s official soundtrack for acclaimed TV series Chernobyl as the winner of Hyundai Nordic Music Prize 2019. The jury also chose two honourable mentions, Erlend Apneseth Trio with Frode Haltli – Salika, Molika and Lowly – Hifalutin.

Less than four hours after her Q&A with The Guardian’s Jude Rogers at by:Larm, Hildur was called back to the stage to receive the prize.

– This is an album that totally pushes the boundaries of what music can do. It stands alone as an immersive, eerie and beautiful composition in its own right, built almost entirely from sounds recorded on location in the field. It also subtly and powerfully evokes the terror and melancholy of the events it describes, and shows a composer, performer and creator at the very top of her game, states the jury in their statement.

– Iceland’s Hildur Guðnadóttir has already been raising goosebumps over many years via her collaborations with Sunn O))), Throbbing Gristle and others, says Erik Egenes, press manager of by:Larm.
– In 2019 she surpassed even herself, with the transformative sonic textures of Chernobyl and Joker. Nothing remains but simply to go down on our knees. Hildur is the runaway winner of the Hyundai Nordic Music Prize.

Honourable mentions

Erlend Apneseth Trio with Frode Haltli – Salika, Molika
At the heart of this delicate, vivid, engaging music is one of the most traditional Nordic instruments, the Hardanger fiddle but set in a very modern context of loops, glitches, found sounds and archive material.

Lowly – Hifalutin
(Bella Union)
We were deeply impressed of the warm avant pop full of shifting textures and haunting and delicious melodies on Lowly’s Hifalutin

This year’s nominees were the following:
Jada – I Cry A Lot
Lowly – Hifalutin
STINAKO – Ikuisuus
The Hearing – Demian
Cell7 – Is Anybody Listening?
Countess Malaise – HYSTERÍA
Hildur Guðnadóttir – Chernobyl OST
Erlend Apneseth Trio with Frode Haltli – Salika, Molika
Karpe – SAS Plus, SAS Pussy
Pom Poko – Birthday
Jenny Wilson – Trauma
Nadia Tehran – Dozakh: All lovers hell

Read more about the nominees here.